Skip to content

ALAH JH Boys Track teams begin 2021 season at home

The Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond Jr. High boys’ track team opened their 2021 season at home with a triangular meet against Bement and Okaw Valley. In the 110M hurdles and the 100 meters the athletes are required to run in every other lane to meet covid restrictions so there are several heats of those races. Easton Frederick is shown here in his heat of the seventh grade 110M hurdles. His time of 20.71 was the fastest of all the heats which earned him first place in the event.


The Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond Jr. High boys track teams played hosts to Bement and Okaw Valley in the first meet of the 2021 season. Matt Thomas, ALAH High School boys coach is coaching the team while long time head coach Don McCarthy is currently serving as an assistant football coach during these unusual times.

Coach McCarthy plans to rejoin the team when football season ends around April 26. A big thanks to Coach Thomas for stepping in and getting the boys off to a great start.

Just like in the girls’ meet the seventh grade won easily and the eighth grade finished second by just a few points. The eighth grade did beat Bement who finished in third.

In the seventh grade division, Payton Warrior won two events, the 100M and 200M. Other first place winners were: Cash Hale in the high jump; Tristan Keagle in the long jump; Bryan Martinez in the discus; Easton Frederick in the 110M hurdles, and the 400M relay team of Martinez, Brayden Leech, Warrior, and Dylan Ingersoll.

For the eighth grade, Dalton Vanausdoll won both the shot put and discus. Other first place finishers were: Trey Collins, high jump; Zach Thompson, 200M; and the 400M relay team of Mitiku Appleby, Thompson, Vanausdoll, and Collins.

Next Monday, March 29, the boys will travel to Shelbyville for a triangular meet with the host school and Central A & M.

7th Grade Boys Team and Individual Results
vs. Bement
& Okaw Valley
March 22, 2021

Team results: 1. Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond 71; 2. Bement 32; 3. Okaw Valley 22

Shot Put: Bryan Martinez 26’ 3”, Second; Nick Hubster, 21’ 6”, Third

Discus: Bryan Martinez 64’ 10”, First; Kamden Morfey 42’ 1”, Fourth;

High Jump: Cash Hale 4’ 2”, First; Cruz Hale 3’ 2”, Second

Long Jump: Tristan Keagle 11’ 2.5”, First; Coye Grant 10’ 4”, Third; Preston Gingerich 9’ 9”, Fourth;

110 M Hurdles: Easton Frederick 20.71, First;

100M: Payton Warrior 13.11, First; Easton Frederick 14.59, Second; Brayden Leech 14.64; Third; Bryan Martinez 14.91; Fourth; Cash Hale 15.14; Owen Herring 16.27;

200M: Payton Warrior 27.29, First; Cash Hale 32.1, Second; Owen Herring 34.21, Third; Parker Beck 45.11;

400M: Preston Gingerich 1:14.01, Second; Dylan Ingersoll 1:29.53, Fourth; Parker Beck 1:43.26;

800M: Cruz Hale 2:42.83, Second; Coye Grant 3:06.71, Third; Brennon Hutson 3:12.72, Fourth;

1600M: Cruz Hale 6:01.83, Second;

400M Relay: Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond 59.64, First (Bryan Martinez, Brayden Leech, Payton Warrior, Dylan Ingersoll)

800M Relay: None

1600M Relay: None

8th Grade Boys Team and Individual Results
vs. Bement
& Okaw Valley
March 22, 2021

Team results: 1.Okaw Valley 48; 2.Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond 45; 3. Bement 31;

Shot Put: Dalton Vanausdoll 39’ 6”, First; Colin Smith 27’ 7”, Third; Mackenley Bowles 24’ 11”, Fourth; Maddix Stirrett 24’ 7”

Discus: Dalton Vanausdoll 88’ 7”, First; Colin Smith 58’ 4”, Fourth; Mackenley Bowles 56’ 6”; Maddix Stirrett 52’ 5”;

High Jump: Trey Collins 4’ 4”, First;

Long Jump: None

110 M Hurdles: Alex Rexroad 20.17, Second; Ryan Appleby 23.83;

100M: Trey Collins 13.45, Second; Zach Thompson 13.67, Third; Mitiku Appleby 13.78;

200M: Zach Thompson 29.29, First;

400M: None

800M: Caden Binder 2:55.95, Third;

1600M: Alex Rexroad 5:55.22, Second; Colin Smith 6:15.34;

400M Relay: Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond 53.37, First (Mitiku Appleby, Zach Thompson, Dalton Vanausdoll, Trey Collins)

800M Relay: Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond 2:05.53, Second

1600M Relay: Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond 4:42.89 (Dalton Vanausdoll, Cruz Hale, Brennon Hutson, Alex Rexroad)


Leave a Comment