Skip to content

ALAH FFA holds annual FFA Awards Banquet

2021-2022 FFA OFFICERS. Michaela Powell, vice president; Ashley Seegmiller, treasurer; Payton Rawlins, reporter; Wyatt Hilligoss, assistant farm manager; Lyle Adcock, assistant farm manager; Tanner Beckmier, farm manager; Logan Beckmier, historian, Aaron Seegmiler, sentinel; Quentin Day, secretary and Jace Green, president.

On Thursday, April 29, the ALAH FFA chapter held its annual awards banquet at the Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond High School. During the evening, many awards were handed out, and the new FFA officer team was installed.

The evening began with the open ceremonies presented by the 2020-2021 FFA Officer team. Following the meal, the award ceremonies and special recognitions were presented along with the FFA Creed, presented by Greenhand Brody Louden.

The CDE report to recognize those members who had competed in Career Development Events this year was given by FFA Advisor Megan Beckmier. Members participating in these events must think critically and make rational decisions on specific situations that relate to curriculum areas in Agricultural Science and Ag Business.

Advisor Beckmier said, “What a year it has been. Looking back over the past 12 months, I believe our Chapter has been able to grow and adapt to new ways. One of these ways has been the involvement of members in Career Development Events. Usually, we would prepare for a contest, travel to the contest, and then compete. Although we have missed the opportunity to spend time traveling together, we have been able to involve many more students in these contests because they have been virtual.”

She continued, “Some of these students would never have dreamed of participating in some of these contests. I am so proud of and grateful for their willingness to step out of their comfort zone and try something new…VIRTUALLY! I commend you and thank you for that.”

This year the ALAH FFA teams competed in 6 major Section CDE competitions. Members receiving recognition along with certificates were:

Ag Sales- Rachel Kinney (7th overall individual), Jace Green (9th overall individual), Payton Rawlins, and Tanner Beckmier. The team was 4th place in Section Contest.

Agronomy- Ashley Seegmiller, Tanner Beckmier, Logan Beckmier, Lyle Adcock, Hunter Carnahan, Wyatt Hilligoss, and Bailey Bialeschki.

Livestock Judging-Logan Beckmier, Tanner Beckmier, Brody Louden, Ashley Seegmiller, Quentin Day, and Kaci Beachy.

Job Interview-Rachel Kinney, Section 17 winner

Dairy Judging Contest- Ashley Seegmiller (3rd place individual), Bailey Bialeschki (4th place individual), Hunter Carnahan (9thplace individual), Logan Beckmier (1st place individual), Lyle Adcock (8th place individual), Tanner Beckmier, and Wyatt Hilligoss (7th place individual) (2nd Place team)

Public Speaking- Tanner Beckmier, JV Extemporaneous Speech

Members were recognized for winning the Chapter Proficiency awards which involves working on their FFA project and record books.

The following FFA members earned their chapter proficiency awards: Rachel Kinney in Outdoor Recreation (Chapter and Section 17 winner); Ashley Seegmiller in Beef Production (Chapter winner); Logan Beckmier in Sheep Production (Chapter winner); Tanner Beckmier in Ag services (Chapter winner).

The FFA officers presented the degree ceremonies for the Greenhand, Chapter, and Honorary Chapter FFA degrees.

Two FFA members earned the Greenhand Degree, which is for first year high school members. These members were given the Greenhand Degree pin, which is made of bronze, to wear on their FFA jackets. Members who earned the Greenhand Degree were Kaci Beachy and Brody Louden.

The Chapter FFA degree was presented to three members and it is for second-and third-year members who have excelled in their chapter. Logan Beckmier, Tanner Beckmier, and Ashley Seegmiller received their Chapter Degrees.

The Honorary Chapter Degree is given to individuals who have made an impact on the FFA chapter. Two individuals received this coveted honor. The 2021 Honorary Chapter Degrees were given to Tom and Jennifer Kinney.

Mrs. Beckmier recognized a few members that had gone above and beyond her expectations for the year.

Winning the 2020-2021 Most Active Award was Tanner Beckmier, accumulating the most points for participating in various events over the course of the school year.

The Star Greenhand Award recipient was Brody Louden, which is presented to the top greenhand or first year member.

The last award she presented was the Chapter Star Farmer. Ashley Seegmiller was this year’s recipient and is based on the chapter member who has an outstanding Supervised Agriculture Experience (SAE) in production agriculture and demonstrates the most involvement in all phases of the chapter’s activities.

The ALAH FFA Alumni members were recognized for their continued support of the FFA chapter. Alumni Association representative Jennifer Perrine presented the alumni report.

She presented college scholarships to FFA members Madison Snyder, Rachel Kinney, Sahara McGuire, and Wyatt Romine.

Historian Ashley Seegmiller recognized the senior FFA members and their parents and each senior received a gift.

The Foundation report was given by Mrs. Beckmier and she recognized the individuals and businesses who contributed over $2,100 to the Illinois Foundation Collection Drive.

The last item on the agenda was to install the newly elected 2021-2022 FFA Officer team. The officers are as follows: Jace Green, president; Michaela Powell, vice president; Quentin Day, secretary; Ashley Seegmiller, treasurer; Payton Rawlins, reporter; Aaron Seegmiler, sentinel; and Logan Beckmier, historian.

Tanner Beckmier was appointed to serve as the chapter’s farm manger and Wyatt Hilligoss and Lyle Adcock as assistant farm mangers. Their duties will be to work with the Alumni to care for and tend to their FFA Land Lab.


Leave a Comment