Skip to content

Greenwood named Superintendent of Distinction for 2021

Dr. Sheila Greenwood, superintendent of Bement CUSD #5 has been named the 2021 Superintendent of Distinction by the Abe Lincoln Region of Illinois Association of School Administrators (IASA).

Greenwood was honored at an awards luncheon May 5 in Springfield. State Superintendent Dr. Carmen Ayala was the featured speaker, where 21 IASA regional Superintendents of Distinction were recognized.

“Being a small rural district has its own unique set of challenges but, more importantly, it has so many wonderful opportunities,” said Greenwood, who has been an educator for 33 years and superintendent at Bement for eight years. “Being a servant leader in Bement has been a real blessing.”

Those nominating Greenwood noted such accomplishments as expanding technology access by taking the entire district wireless and implementing a 1:1 technology model for students and devices; creating and staffing a STEM (science, technology engineering and math) lab classroom; committing to in-person instruction throughout the entire 2020-21 school year; achieving the highest possible district financial standing; bringing in more than $1 million dollars in grant monies to supplement and maintain programs and buildings.

Nominations for each Superintendent of Distinction was based on their commitment, dedication, and leadership.

“These extraordinary individuals are exceptional leaders and difference makers in their communities,” said IASA Executive Director Dr. Brent Clark. “Throughout their careers, each honoree has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to elevating the success of students in their districts.”

The seventh annual luncheon was sponsored again this year by Horace Mann, one of the nation’s largest insurers focusing on the needs of educators.

“Superintendents have had to be more flexible, nimble, creative, and understanding this year than ever before,” said Marita Zuraitis, Horace Mann President and CEO.

The Abe Lincoln Region comprises Piatt, Moultrie, Shelby, DeWitt, Macon, Christian, Sangamon, Logan, and Menard counties.

Leave a Comment