Skip to content

A/ALAH Golf Three-Peats In LPC Match

Knight Riders Go Back to Back to Back in LPC Championship. For the third year in a row the Arcola Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond golf team brought home the first place trophy in the annual conference match. Pictured here is the winning team, from left to right: Nolan Schrock, Braden Kauffman, Alex Kuhns, Kade Herschberger, Aaron Seegmiller and Clay Seal. The team shot a 339 to easily outdistance runner up Okaw Valley who had a 382. Braden, Alex, Kade and Aaron also earned Lincoln Prairie All Conference honors.

The Arcola/Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond Knight Riders golf team captured their third consecutive Lincoln Prairie Golf championship in the annual conference match on Thursday, September 23 which was held at Kaskaskia Country Club.

The Knight Riders shot 339 to easily outdistance the second place Okaw Valley Timberwolves who shot 382. Villa Grove finished in third with a 395 and Blue Ridge fourth with a 411. The Knight Riders have won all three LPC championship matches dating back to 2019 when the conference first formed.

Leading the way for A/ALAH were Braden Kauffman and Alex Kuhns who both shot 83 to finish in second and third respectively. The tie was broken by a scorecard playoff which is where they pick a random hole on the card and see who had the lowest score on that hole. Aaron Seegmiller took fourth with an 84 and Kade Herschberger sixth with an 89. Other players were Clay Seal, 93 and Nolan Schrock, 115. Holden Kyle from Tri-County finished in first with an 82.

Earning Lincoln Prairie All Conference honors were Braden Kauffman, Alex Kuhns, Aaron Seegmiller and Kade Herschberger. Clay Seal was one shot out of making all conference and as Assistant Coach Brad McGill said, “Kade was in the same position last year and came back this year strong! They are now 18-1 which is pretty special! And 3X conference champs!!”

The golf team will begin post season I.H.S.A. play in the Class 2A Olney Regional on September 29 at Richland Golf Club. Other teams in our regional are: Charleston, Effingham, Lawrenceville, Mattoon, Mt. Zion, Olney and Paris.

Leave a Comment