Skip to content

Lincoln Prairie Conference defeated by National Trail Conference in all-star game

Cerro Gordo Bement Bronco Connor Brown is pictured with his two plaques following the senior all-star game between the Lincoln Prairie Conference and the National Trail Conference held at Cumberland High School. Brown received MVP honors for the LPC team.

The 29th Annual Boys Central Illinois All-Star basketball game featuring senior players from the Lincoln Prairie Conference and National Trail Conference was held on Sunday, March 27 at Cumberland High School.

The LPC team lost the contest by a score of 83-87.

The All-Star roster for the Lincoln Prairie Conference team included Connor Brown (Cerro Gordo-Bement), Beau Edwards (Arcola), Alex Kuhns (Arcola), Landon Lawson (Argenta-Oreana), Gannon Harshman (Decatur LSA), Kadan Miller (Okaw Valley),Tyson Montgomery (Okaw Valley), Cale Roley (Okaw Valley), Wiley Peters (Cumberland), Elijah McElravy (Cumberland), Ashton Harrison (Villa Grove), and Jack Armstrong (Tri-County).

Coaches for the LPC were Blue Ridge Knights Colten Reeves and Hunter Green.

Leading the way for the LPC team was Broncos Connor Brown with 15 points followed by Roley with 14 points; Harshman with 11; Armstrong with 9; Montgomery and McElravy with 7; Edwards and Lawson with 5; Kuhns with 4, and Miller and Peters with 3 points.

Connor Brown from the LPC and Samuel Vonderheide from the NTC earned Most Valuable Player honors after the contest and each received a plaque.

The National Trail Conference All-Star team included Noah Klimpel (Altamont), Jadon Robertson (Cowden-Herrick/ Beecher City; Bryce Budde (Dieterich), Andrew Lidy (Dieterich), Paci McClure (Neoga), Kaden Young (Neoga), Dakota Weidner (North Clay), Samuel Vonderheide (Windsor Stewardson-Strasburg), Kyle Stewart (Effingham St. Anthony), Craig Croy (Effingham St. Anthony), Brady Maxey (St. Elmo/Brownstown), Keenin Willshire (South Central), and Spencer Johannes (South Central).

Coaches for the NTC were Cody Rinker (Effingham St. Anthony) and Greg Feezel (St. Elmo/Brownstown).

Scoring for the NTC team was Vonderheide with 22 points, Croy with 10 points; Willshire, Stewart, and Johannes each had 9-points; Young and Klimpel each had 6-points; McClure with 5; Budde and Robertson each had 4-points, and Maxey with 3 points.

There was also a three-point contest and Altamont’s Noah Klimpel was the winner.

Justin Roedl of Cumberland High School is the Central Illinois All-Star Director.

Leave a Comment