Skip to content

MTZ village board approves new commission members

Staff Writer

The Mt. Zion Village Board met on January 17 and approved the appointment and confirmations of members to the planning commission and zoning board of appeals, parks and recreation commission and liquor control commission as well as the annual police commission report.

The following members were appointed and confirmed to their different positions. Scott Garwood (2025) – Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals, Jeremy Hahn (2027)- Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals Rebecca Hugo (2025) – Parks & Recreation Commission Ronald Johnson – Liquor Control Commission and Joni Grubbs – Liquor Control

The police commission report consisted that in January 2022, the commission tested for the position of probationary police officer. The process didn’t produce any candidates.

The commision tested and swore in two probationary police officers in 2022. Officer Gaige Floyd was sworn in in March after vacancy created by the resignation of Officer Patrick Cook. Officer Brock Busher was sworn in December after the resignation of Craig Reed.

In early 2023, the commission plans to open up an application and administer a testing process to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Brett Etnier.

The Village board also approved:

-The consideration and action on FY 2022 Budget Adjustments.

-Approved an ordinance amending the traffic code that makes it no parking on Baltimore Road.

The next village board meeting will be held on February 21 at 5:15 p.m.

Leave a Comment