Skip to content

Winners named in the 2023 Illinois Americanism Essay Contest

“Who Are Our Modern Day Patriots?” was the subject and title of the 2023 Department of Illinois Americanism Essay Contest sponsored locally by the American Legion Auxiliary units of Arthur, Atwood and Lovington.

Essays were judged by a team of local judges, one each from the three units. Classes were: Class I-7th & 8th; Class II-9th & 10th; Class III-11th & 12th grades.

Local 1st place winners in each class are sent on to compete at the District level. District winners advance to the Division level. These winners go on to State Competition. State winners are usually announced in mid-May.

Local 1st place winners in each class receive $75; 2nd place winners receive $50; and 3rd place winners receive $25.

Winners in each class are as follows:

Class I-7th & 8th grades: 1st-Joshua Taylor, 2nd-Maxton Boddy, 3rd-Jaidyn Edwards, all of Lovington.

Class II-Freshman-Sophomore: 1st-Christa Davis, 2nd-Brayden Leech, 3rd-Alek Stutzman, all of Arthur.

Class III-Junior-Senior: 1st-Noah Shoemaker, Atwood; 2nd-Lucy Wilber, Lovington & 3rd-Lillian Daily of Arthur.

Prize money and certificates will be presented to the ALAH high school winners at an Honors Day Program on Thursday, May 11.

Grade School winners will receive their certificates and prize money at a program at the Lovington Grade School on Wednesday, May 24. A total of 45 essays were submitted by local students.

The auxiliary units of Arthur, Atwood and Lovington are very proud of each student and their participation in the annual essay contest.

Leave a Comment