Skip to content

ALAH High School National Honor Society Inducts Sixteen New Members

These sixteen Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond high school students became the newest members of the ALAH National Honor Society. They were inducted during a ceremony held at the high school on Sunday, April 2. Front row: Dylan Price, Maggie Benedict, Kaci Beachy, Emmalee Nall, Miah Malin, Sara Herschberger, Alayna Plank, and Layla Deel. Back row: Lillian Edwards, Danaysha Stutzman, Victoria Carter, Addison Yeakel, Faeryn Davison, Lucy Wilber, Evanger Wiley and Mackenzie Condill.

The Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond High School National Honor Society held the 2023 induction ceremony on Sunday, April 2 at the high school. NHS President Ashley Seegmiller welcomed everyone and introduced the keynote speaker of the day, Mr. Jared Blaudow.

Mr. Blaudow gave a bit of personal background information and then began his talk about communities and the fact that we are all a part of all kinds of communities not just the town we live in but our families, school, work and any other group we are a part of are all communities. The spoke of our service and help in those communities and said we should be accountable, have a good attitude, be intentional, and set goals. Jared stated, “the secret to life is about building relationships that lead to happiness in your life.”

Jared then gave a list of seven decisions that are impactful to your life – #1 the buck stops here, #2 seek wisdom, #3 be a person of action, #4 have a decided heart, #5 choose happiness, #6 grant each day a forgiving spirit and #7 persist without exception. He told the students, “You will have an impact if you make good decisions.”

President Seegmiller then introduced some of the current members who lit a candle and spoke about the Four Pillars of National Honor Society. Kendall Burdick spoke on Scholarship; Charley Condill, Service; Brady Moore, Leadership; and Wyatt Hilligoss, Character.

Ashley then led the 2023 inductees in the National Honor Society pledge and presented the group to the audience. Each new member was presented a certificate by Ashley and received congratulations from their Adviser Ms. Kendall Huffman, ALAH High School Principal Mrs. Steffanie Seegmiller, Arthur CUSD #305 Superintendent Mr. Shannon Cheek and NHS officers Aaron Seegmiller and Brady Moore.

Mrs. Seegmiller then gave congratulatory remarks to the new members and listed their service projects they had held this school year, starting with a breast cancer fund raiser during the first quarter, the first ever Haircuts for the Holidays in December and then just a couple of weeks ago they took part in the Polar Plunge raising money for Special Olympics. She challenged them to apply the four pillars of NHS to their lives today and every day saying, “You are the change makers!”

President Seegmiller closed the ceremony with thanks to Ms. Huffman, the induction planning committee, and Mrs. Beckmier and the FFA for the ferns used for decoration. She then invited everyone to stay for a reception to celebrate the new inductees.

Leave a Comment