Skip to content

Cerro Gordo Bement Girls Capture Lincoln Prairie Conference Track & Field Title

CGB Girls Track and Field – Lincoln Prairie Conference Champions!! The Cerro Gordo Bement Lady Broncos captured the championship of the third annual Lincoln Prairie Conference track and field meet held in Arthur on Friday, May 5. The girls scored 121 points to win over second place Arcola who scored 77. Pictured here after the meet with the first place trophy are: back row: Erin Rogers, Joie Auth, Mariah Corpus, Bailey Walter, Peyton Lents, Caroline Hill, Reese Brunner, Katherine Quick, Haley Garrett, Ariel Ponce, Maddy Gant, Samantha “Timmy” Sterling, and Caydence Brown. Front row: Gabby Block, Marley Olson, Skye Tieman, Coach Ridgeway, Haylei Simpson, and Addison Roberst. Not pictured: Jazzi Hicks and Ali Walker.

Staff Writer

The Cerro Gordo Bement girls track and field team dominated the eleven team field with record setting performances at the third annual Lincoln Prairie Conference meet held in Arthur on Friday, May 5. The girls scored 121 points to win the title over second place Arcola who had 77. There were eight new records set and the Lady Broncos had four of them.

Senior Haley Garrett led the way for the girls with three individual first place finishes, the long jump, where she broke her own record (4.99 meters or 16’ 4”, old record set last year, 4.88 meters or 16’); the triple jump, 9.75 meters or 32’; plus another record setting performance in the 100 meter dash where she ran 12.91 to again break her own record from last year of 13.05. Haley also ran the anchor leg of the 4 X 100 meter relay that set a new record of 52.30 breaking the 54.9 record set by the same group last year. Other runners in that relay were Haylei Simpson, Skye Tieman and Caroline Hill.

Jazzi Hicks, also a senior, provided two more firsts for CGB in her specialties, the shot put, 11.79 meters or 38’ 8”, which broke the record of 11.29 meters or 37’ set in the first year of the LPC meet in 2021. Jazzi also won the discus with a throw of 31.06 meters or 102’.

Several other athletes contributed points as the Lady Broncos scored in sixteen of the eighteen events. The girls will compete in the IHSA Class 1A Sectional at Okaw Valley on Thursday, May 11. Field events get underway at 4:00 p.m. with running events starting at 5:30. The top two finishers in each event plus those competitors meeting the IHSA state qualifying standards will advance to the IHSA State Finals on May 18-20 at Eastern Illinois University.

The CGB boys team finished third in the team standings at the conference meet last Friday. Although there were no individual or relay conference champions the Broncos scored in fourteen of the eighteen events.

The boys enter post season competition at the IHSA Class 1A Sectional at Tuscola on Wednesday, May 17. Field events start at 4:30 p.m. with running events slated to start at 6. Just as it is with the girls, the boys placing first or second or meeting qualifying standards at this meet will advance to the IHSA State Finals which for the boys is May 25-27 also at EIU.

Cerro Gordo Bement Girls Team and Individual Results
Lincoln Prairie Conference
May 5, 2023

Team Results: 1. Cerro Gordo Bement 121; 2. Arcola 77; 3. Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond 71; 4. Blue Ridge 59; 5. Sangamon Valley 56; 6. Argenta-Oreana 31; 7. Hume Shiloh & Okaw Valley 30; 9. Cumberland 23; 10. Villa Grove 20; 11. Heritage 8

Shot Put: Jazzi Hicks 11.79m (38’ 8”), first (record); Peyton Lents.6.91m (22’ 8”)

Discus: Jazzi Hicks 31.06m (102’ 0”); Caydence Brown 22.17m (72’ 9”)

High Jump: Joie Auth 1.32m (4’ 4”), fourth; Katherine Quick 1.32m (4’ 4”), fifth

Long Jump: Haley Garrett 4.99m (16’ 4”), first (record:Skye Tieman 4.06m (13’ 4”)

Triple Jump: Haley Garrett 9.75m (32’ 0”), first; Reese Brunner 8.55m (28’ 1”), sixth

100M Hurdles: Haylei Simpson 19.97, fourth

300M Hurdles: Haylei Simpson 55.08, fifth; Katherine Quick 1:05.61

100M: Haley Garrett 12.91, first, (record); Caroline Hill 13.38, second

200M: Caroline Hill 28.00, second; Addison Roberts 31.52

400M: Caroline Hill 1:02.49, third; Madalynn Gant 1:08.94

800M: Reese Brunner 2:39.98, third; Ali Walker 2:54.75

1600M: Mariah Corpus 6:18.74, fourth; Ariel Ponce 7:05655

3200M: Marley Olson 17:01.82

4 X 100 Relay: Cerro Gordo Bement 52.30, first (record) (Skye Tieman, Haley Garrett, Haylei Simpson, Caroline Hill)

4 X 200 Relay: Cerro Gordo Bement 2:06.36, fifth (Addison Roberts, Erin Rogers, Caydence Brown, Bailey Walter)

4 X 400 Relay: Cerro Gordo Bement 4:38.27, third (Haylei Simpson, Reese Brunner, Skye Tieman, Madalynn Gant)

4 X 800 M Relay: Cerro Gordo Bement 11:26.6, second (Mariah Corpus, Reese Brunner, Ali Walker, Ariel Ponce)

Cerro Gordo Bement Boys Team and Individual Results
Lincoln Prairie Conference
May, 2023

Team Results: 1. Arthur Lovington Atwood Hammond 104; 2. Villa Grove 98; 3. Cerro Gordo Bement 86; 4. Cumberland 86; 5. Arcola 60; 6. Blue Ridge 44; 7. Argenta-Oreana 41; 8. Heritage 21; 9. Okaw Valley 16; 10. Hume Shiloh 13; 11. Sangamon Valley 5

Shot Put: Thomas Pierceall 11.63m (38’ 2”)

Discus: Jariah Adamson 40.29m (132’), second; Ian Glennon 26.88m (88’ 2”)

Long Jump: Jariah Adamson 5.80m (19’), third; Mason Conour 5.25m (17’ 2”);

High Jump: None

Pole Vault: Kade Alumbaugh 2.30m (7’ 6”), fourth

Triple Jump: Tyce Alumbaugh 10.82m (35’ 6”)

110M Hurdles: Mason Conour 21.33, fourth

300M Hurdles: Mason Conour 48.24, second

100M: Quintin Nevius 12.75; Cameron Brown 13.21

200M: Quentin Nevius 25.84, sixth

400M: Jariah Adamson 54.25, second; Evan Fogerson 57.31, sixth

800M: Will Fuson 2:06.61, second; John Freese 2:33.56

1600M: Will Fuson 4:46.06, third; Dylan Howell 5:02.14, fourth

3200M: Dylan Howell 10:28.66, second; J.P. Brewer 12:02.16, fifth

4 X 1 Relay: Cerro Gordo Bement 50.46 (Camren Brown, Quentin Nevius, Cole Stoerger, Brenden Puckett)

4 X 2 Relay: Cerro Gordo Bement 1:44.96, fifth (Cole Stoerger, Quentin Nevius, Camren Brown, Kade Alumbaugh)

4 X 4 Relay: Cerro Gordo Bement 3:50.37, fourth (Jariah Adamson, Evan Fogerson, Will Fuson, Dylan Howell)

4 X 8 Relay: Cerro Gordo Bement 9:39.96, second (Will Fuson, Evan Fogerson, J.P. Brewer, Brayden Strack )

Leave a Comment